The First Date Only Project

Date tomorrow March 19, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Firstdateonly @ 2:44 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ve lined up my first date from my craigslist ad. He lives in Hampstead. So I shall call him Hampstead Guy. Frankly, I’m not really looking forward to it. Mostly because the guy I’m going out with is REALLY REALLY EXCESSIVELY KEEN TO MEET ME. I’m a little concerned he’s never had a girlfriend before.

I decided to go out with this one because he seemed really nice through email, quite smart and funny, etc. I saw his picture, and he’s cute and rather unassuming looking. But then again, so is this guy.

He gave me his number, we texted back and forth a couple of times and set the date for Saturday (tomorrow)- we’re going for lunch at a pub near Hampstead Heath. Great.

But he KEEPS TEXTING. A LOT.

“How are you today? How’s xyz going? How’s work?” Every morning. Sometimes again later in the afternoon. For the last 4 days. He sent one such text this morning, which also detailed his whereabouts and what he’d been up to for the last 12 hours in excessive detail (the longest text I’ve ever received). I didn’t respond, because A. I was at work and B. Chill the fuck out.

A few hours later, he texted again, “Bzz, all ok with you? Still on for 3pm tomorrow? Hope you’re well!”

I texted back saying that I was busy at work, and yes, I would see him tomorrow. He responded, “Hoped it’d be something like that. See you tomorrow, I’m looking forward to it :-D” ARE YOU? ARE YOU REALLY? I HADN’T CAUGHT ONTO THAT.

Maybe I’m being a bit mean, and he may very well be a perfectly well-meaning individual. But wow, coming on awful strong. Maybe I should be really clear and remind him that THIS IS JUST ONE DATE. I do have the distinct impression that he’s going to have a hard time leaving it at just that.

 

One Response to “Date tomorrow”

  1. Too keen just KILLS it! I once had a guy texting me so much before the actual date, that I had to cancel on the 2nd! This guy sounds like a potential stalker. Why get all excited if it’s not going to go anywhere? Weird. Luck!


Leave a Reply

